Posted on

Can dr prescribe cbd oil for underage

Minor differences: Rules for underage medical marijuana patients

If you’re 21 years or older and live in one of the 33 states with legalized medical marijuana laws, you can access marijuana for medical reasons if you have a qualifying health condition. And in 11 of these states, including Washington, recreational adult use is also legal, so you don’t even need to visit a doctor in order to purchase and consume cannabis products. But if you’re under 21 and have a qualifying condition, you can still get and use medical marijuana. In most medical use states, minors can get medical marijuana if they have an adult willing to act as their caregiver or designated provider and are also entered into the state medical marijuana database. The idea of giving cannabis to minors may cause some serious pearl-clutching to some with anti-drug views, but medical marijuana has been shown to benefit some kids with cancer, autism, epilepsy, or other life-threatening illnesses. So how does it work in Washington? First, a recommendation from a healthcare practitioner licensed in Washington to authorize the use of marijuana to medical patients is required. Medical doctors, physician assistants, osteopathic physicians and naturopathic physicians are among those allowed to provide authorization. In some cases, physicians may be reluctant to provide these recommendations, as they still don’t know the full effects of minors using marijuana. Next, a minor will need an adult willing to be act as their caregiver/designated provider. The caregiver must be at least 18-21 years old (some states differ) and be willing manage the well-being of a minor diagnosed with a chronic or debilitating medical condition – usually a parent or guardian – who can enter a medically-endorsed cannabis retailer to purchase products. In Washington, patients must be at least age 18, have an authorization form from a doctor, and a valid photo ID. You do not need a designated provider to be entered into the Medical Marijuana Authorization Database. You can even enter a medically endorsed store to get your recognition card and purchase from these stores yourself; in other states, this is not the case. Even after a minor has a medical marijuana recognition card, there might be other legal hurdles. In some states, parents who have provided medical marijuana to their children have been reported to the authorities, school officials or a state’s Child Protective Services. There is also a limit on when and where parents/providers/caregivers can administer the drug to minor patients. Some states do not allow schools to authorize using or possessing medical marijuana on premise, so children must leave school grounds to take their medicine during the day. In other cases, schools may allow cannabis on site, but school staff cannot administer it for legal reasons, which can be a hardship for working parents. California, Illinois, Florida, Colorado, and Washington are just a few states that have passed laws that allow parents to administer medical cannabis to their child at school. In California specifically, the laws only pertain to certain school districts. In these states, approved forms of cannabis for minors are limited to oils, edibles or lotions, which can be absorbed quickly. In addition, cannabis cannot be stored on school grounds and a caregiver can only administer product in a designated area. In some states, where marijuana is not prohibited on school grounds, we are seeing lawmakers pursuing similar laws to allow cannabis administration to students. Colleges and universities are also struggling to address medical marijuana. In most cases, these schools still prohibit its presence on school grounds and even require employees to remain drug free, for fear of losing state or federal funding. With the continued legalization of medical marijuana and the expansion of medical laws, parents and guardians will hopefully begin to see more options to provide care for their children – but must still be ready that some areas of society is slow to accept its normalization, legal or not. For more information about medical authorization for minors in Washington, visit doh.wa.gov/MedicalMarijuana.

Allison Hall has a degree in technology and has worked in the field for over 15 years. She recently found that her true love lies in web site design, social media and marketing, freelance writing, and blogging.

Local journalism is essential.

Give directly to The Spokesman-Review’s Northwest Passages community forums series — which helps to offset the costs of several reporter and editor positions at the newspaper — by using the easy options below. Gifts processed in this system are not tax deductible, but are predominately used to help meet the local financial requirements needed to receive national matching-grant funds.

How to Get an MMJ Card for Your Child

Everybody’s heard about adults getting a medical marijuana card for themselves. Seniors have mainly made a massive splash in the news, especially as the fastest-growing demographic of new cannabis users. However, mention cannabis for kids, and people will think you’re crazy?” Yet, kids who have cancer, epilepsy, and other conditions are often given highly addictive pharmaceuticals. Why should we refuse something that could not only help them but is also far less dangerous? That’s why our physicians see minors too.

Get Your Child A Medical Card

Connect with a licensed physician online in minutes.

Plus, anyone who’s heard stories like that of Jayden David’s (of Jayden’s Journey) will come to realize that, yes, there is serious medical potential in medical cannabis and CBD. Medical marijuana is not just a “stepping stone” to legalized recreational use, and the medical applications are very real. For some people, getting access to medical marijuana is life-and-death.

Parents looking to get their child a medical marijuana can do so by following this guide. While not a comprehensive, state-by-state breakdown, it will give you a general idea of how to get a medical marijuana card for your child regardless of your home state.

Download Free Guide to Pediatrics and Medical Marijuana + Bonus Dosing Guide
Table of contents

Can a Person Under 18 Qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card?

Simply put, yes. If your child fulfills the qualifying criteria in the appropriate state, they can apply to use medical cannabis. They will need to have a qualified Caregiver, who (in most states) must be at least 21 years of age and has significant responsibilities in caring for the child. Caregivers often will need to fulfill additional criteria to qualify for the role.

As minors can be susceptible to THC, the qualifying criteria for medical cannabis are often stricter in many states. Some require two physicians’ certificates/recommendations and/or a pediatric specialist to qualify the patient. Other states will only allow cannabis qualifications for children if they are suffering from a particularly severe condition, such as epilepsy, cancer, and terminal illnesses, are some examples.

Please note: we cannot provide a medical marijuana card for minors in Delaware and Georgia.

Seriously sick children can be prescribed addictive opioids and benzodiazepines. Medical marijuana offers a safer alternative.

What is a Caregiver?

A caregiver is someone responsible for managing the well-being and use of cannabis of a person who has been diagnosed with a chronic or debilitating medical condition. You do not need to be related to a person to be their caregiver, and an attending physician is not a caregiver.

How Do I Become a Caregiver?

This depends on the state. You will need to answer questions about you and the designated patient in your care. In some cases, forms will inquire into any past medical training.

Some states require you to complete a Caregiver Core Certification Course, including about 12 or more hours of basic training on the foundations for beginning work as a caregiver. Becoming a caregiver for conditions like dementia may require you to complete more training. You must also prove that you have been the primary designated caregiver for the child throughout their lives, usually as a parent or lawful guardian. Again, this depends on the state, but there are some similarities.

In most states, patients can have a maximum of one caregiver who must be at least 21 years of age. There are usually several other rules for caregivers, such as not having been convicted for a felony offense (particularly involving violence or drug crimes) and not being medical marijuana patients themselves.

Leafwell can help provide more specific state information for caregivers during the certification process.

Get Your Child A Medical Card

Connect with a licensed physician online in minutes.

Do I Have to Be a Caregiver for My Child to Get an MMJ Card for Them?

Yes. Unless the child is legally emancipated, they will need a qualified caregiver to get a physician’s certificate or recommendation for a medical marijuana card.

Source. Public Domain Picture CC0.

Does My Child Have to Be On the Physician’s Call for Medical Marijuana?

Yes. The physician will need to see your child speak to you and examine them if necessary.

How to Get a Medical Weed Card as a Minor

As a caregiver, you will be applying for medical cannabis on behalf of someone else, and the process is much the same. You will need to fill out your child’s application form (often a specific application form for minors), a caregiver form, and, where allowed, an application form indicating if you wish to grow medical cannabis. You will need to provide identification and proof of residency for yourself and your child. You may need two physicians’ certificates or the opinion of a pediatric specialist.

Here are general steps for getting a medical marijuana card via telemedicine, whether it’s for you or your child:

  1. Register online and speak to a licensed physician. Please have an appropriate ID for you and your child, as well as a working camera, speakers, and microphone on your smartphone, tablet, or computer so you can speak and see the doctor.
  2. Following examination, get approved and receive your physician’s medical cannabis certificate or recommendation. Your certificate/recommendation will be emailed to you.
  3. Register with the state Department of Health’s medical marijuana program. You will need to fill out a minor’s medical marijuana card form for your child and a caregiver’s application for yourself. Sometimes, the caregiver form will be attached to the original application form; in other instances, a caregiver application form is separate. The patient application will then list their caregiver/s on the application form.
  4. Receive your child’s medical marijuana card and your caregiver’s card.
  5. You can now shop at a dispensary in your state for appropriate cannabinoid-based medication for your child. You may need to take a photographic ID with you, and your child will not be able to enter the dispensary with you.

How Much Does a Medical Marijuana Card for Kids Cost?

This varies by state and the number of years the state allows qualification (Illinois allows for up to three years’ qualification, for example). There are also usually some extra things that are needed that can increase costs compared to an adult’s medical marijuana card, including the caregiver’s medical cannabis identification card and the need for a second physician’s opinion. You can visit our Ultimate Guide to Getting a Medical Marijuana Card for more general information.

The total cost of a medical marijuana card for a child can be between approximately $100 and $500 for an annual certificate and medical marijuana card, depending on the state. We try to keep medical cannabis cards for children relatively affordable at Leafwell. Prices are subject to change.

What ID or Documentation Will I Need for a Medical Cannabis Consultation with My Child?

You will need ID both for yourself and your child. There are some differences from state-to-state, but as a general rule of thumb, you will need:

  • Photo ID of yourself – a state-issued ID card, passport, or driver’s license is usually acceptable.
  • Your child’s birth certificate.
  • Proof of address from the last two to three months. This can include a rental or mortgage agreement, utility bill (gas, electric, water, broadband bill – not cell phone), or correspondence with a state department (e.g., the DMV).
  • In some states, a criminal background check.
  • Two passport-style photographs of you and your child.
  • Any relevant medical history, including progress notes, medication lists, or medical images.
Download Free Guide to Pediatrics and Medical Marijuana + Bonus Dosing Guide

Will My Child’s Primary Care Physician Be Informed of Their Medical Cannabis Qualification?

As the recommendation will be noted on your child’s medical records, your child’s primary care physician will be informed. It is also appropriate to tell your primary care physician if you intend to use medical cannabis for your child to prevent any contraindicated drug prescriptions or treatments. If you need a primary care physician for your child, we here at Leafwell are here to help!

Finding the Right Medical Marijuana Doctor

Some doctors may be reluctant to recommend medical marijuana for a child. However, any parent coming to medical marijuana is usually at their wit’s end, looking for anything that could help or save their child, especially when so many prescription medications have nasty side effects or fail to help.

Fortunately, Leafwell can see patients through telemedicine. Our doctors can recommend cannabis for patients online through telehealth and reach those struggling to find a recommending physician. We are very sensitive and aware of the needs of parents providing MMJ for their children.

Get Your Child A Medical Card

Connect with a licensed physician online in minutes.

Can I Get a Medical Marijuana Card for My Kids via Telehealth Using Leafwell?

Of course! We even have pediatric specialists specifically to help parents and guardians with medical marijuana for their children.

Finding the Right Dispensary

You can have a valid medical marijuana card for a child and everything, but some dispensaries may be reluctant to hand over medical marijuana to parents treating their kids. However, most well-run dispensaries will have no problems helping you find an appropriate cannabis medicine for your child.

Finding the right dispensary may require some trial and error, but you can make things easier for yourself by doing plenty of research and asking others you might know for advice. If you are active on social media, several parent groups based across the US provide their children MMJ, and these support networks can be a great help.

Is Medical Marijuana Safe for Children? Finding the Right Product for My Child

Seriously sick children can be prescribed any number of harsh and even addictive medications, including opioids and benzodiazepines, and these have several short- and long-term adverse effects. Medical marijuana is comparatively well-tolerated by the human body, and there is no risk of deadly overdose, even for children.

With this being said, parents must still take care of giving any medicine to children, including cannabinoid-based ones. We know that, as THC affects CB1 receptors, it is psychoactive, and THC can harm the developing brain, especially if regular large doses are used. If THC is required, it is wise to use smaller doses in consultation with a physician.

However, one needn’t use psychoactive amounts of THC to obtain its medical benefits. Even low doses of THC (1 – 3 milligrams), which have a little psychoactive effect, can deliver anti-nausea, anti-tumor, painkilling, and sleep-promoting properties. Some children with cancer may need higher doses of THC. THC is still far safer and more tolerable than many medications, even if this is not ideal.

For children, other cannabinoids like CBD, CBDV, THCA, and CBC may be more helpful, as they do not have the same level of psychoactivity as THC and are unlikely to cause any long-term changes to the brain, as they are not affecting CB1 receptors in the brain in the same way as THC.

For more information about children and cannabis, read our article ‘What are the benefits and side-effects of medical cannabis children.’

Can Caregivers Grow Cannabis?

Essentially, being a caregiver gives a person similar rights to patients regarding their ability to grow cannabis. In some states, caregivers can cultivate small amounts of medical cannabis within certain requirements. Caregivers also have limits on how many patients for whom they can cultivate. A specific license is required to grow medical marijuana legally in some states.

In California, caregivers can grow up to 12 mature plants, depending on their proximity to a dispensary. Specific strains of cannabis not grown by the local dispensary can be grown by the caregiver. Caregivers cannot use cannabis unless they are registered, medical marijuana patients.

Get Your Child A Medical Card

Connect with a licensed physician online in minutes.

Applying for Your Child’s Medical Marijuana Card – Conclusion

For those completing a medical marijuana card application for someone else, it is the same process as completing it for themselves – they have to confirm that they’re applying for someone else and give their Caregiver ID number on the form. Getting a medical marijuana card for a minor shouldn’t be too difficult, as children suffering from conditions requiring medical marijuana tend to have vast, detailed medical records proving their illness and lists of medications given to them.

We hope the above guide serves as a helpful resource for obtaining a medical marijuana card for your child.

How Old Do I Have to Be To Buy CBD? (CBD Age Restrictions By State & Country)

The minimum age to buy CBD depends on the country & state you live in. Some places don’t have age restrictions; others only allow those 19 or above to buy CBD.

Article By

CBD (cannabidiol) is a powerful cannabinoid with many proven (and some unproven) health benefits.

Because of its association with marijuana, many states have enacted local laws that prevent minors from buying CBD.

CBD is considered federally legal. In fact, no age restrictions have been set by the federal government, so technically, people of any age can buy CBD in the USA. Some states, however, still impose state-wide age restrictions or outlaw cannabinoids altogether. The same is true of other countries.

This article will provide you with all the information available regarding the age restrictions involved with purchasing CBD.

Table of Contents

Do I Have to Be 18 to Buy CBD?

The federal legislation regarding CBD is set by the 2018 Farm Bill. This bill doesn’t make any specifications regarding the age limits for people wanting to purchase CBD. So, at a federal level, people can buy CBD products at any age.

However, most states choose to enact some sort of law requiring people to be a certain age before they can buy CBD. Some states require people to be 18; others require them to be 21.

Some states even have varying standards depending on which county or jurisdiction you’re in. You’ll be able to find out more specifics in the section below.

Is CBD Legal In the USA?

CBD is currently legal in the United States, but this has only been the case for several years. Ever since industrial hemp was legalized in 2018, CBD was also made legal as long as it was sourced exclusively from industrial hemp.

CBD derived from plants that are considered marijuana is still, technically, illegal. While it’s unlikely that law enforcement is going to do any testing and background checks to determine the original source of a CBD product, this is nonetheless the legal rule.

In terms of prescription medication, the Food and Drug Administration has currently only approved one prescription medication that uses CBD. They are yet to publish results regarding their opinion of the safety status of CBD.

Nonetheless, the FDA has made some specific statements regarding the age requirements for people purchasing CBD:

“If any category of CBD is to be age-restricted, only smokable flower or vaping oils should be sold only to legal adults (18+). However, other forms of CBD (cremes, oils, topicals, edibles, etc.), considering its medical benefit, should not be age-restricted.”

This statement seems aligned with the FDA’s stance on vaping and smoking but does not necessarily adhere to common sense. They state that CBD edibles should not be restricted, despite the fact that edibles can produce the same effects as vaping or smoking CBD.

Synthetic vs. Natural Hemp Extracts

According to the American definition, all forms of CBD are natural, even if they’re entirely made in a laboratory. Since the lab-made molecule is a replica of a natural molecule, companies can get away selling synthetic CBD as an all-natural product.

The effects of synthetic vs. natural CBD are identical, although users consuming purely lab-grade CBD will lose out on the benefits of full-spectrum products. Regardless, both ‘synthetic’ and ‘natural’ CBD fall under the standard CBD rules.

CBD Age Restrictions in All 50 States

The laws can vary significantly from state to state. Some states fully advocate for the use of all types of cannabis. Others are more conservative and try to limit the availability of any cannabinoids.

According to the 2018 Farm Bill, it’s perfectly legal to ship CBD throughout the United States. However, it might not be legal for people to actually receive these products, and some companies may not be allowed to sell them based on local state laws that diverge from the federal ruling.

Alabama

(No age restriction)

In Alabama, patients must be registered to legally access medical cannabis products. The main CBD product sold in Alabama is a prescription medication called Epidiolex.

This medication is usually just prescribed to patients with conditions that cause serious seizures. There is no age restriction; children as young as two have been prescribed the medication when suffering from Dravet’s syndrome.

Hemp flower is also illegal to sell in Alabama.

Despite that, there are a number of CBD shops that have popped up in Alabama. CBD can easily be bought from these stores despite being illegal.

The Alabama Department of Agriculture even licenses people to grow hemp for the express purpose of producing CBD products even though it’s illegal to sell them.

Because it’s actually illegal, there can be no age restriction on the purchase of CBD in Alabama. Technically everybody is restricted from purchasing it, but in practice, neither the government nor the population seems to care about these laws.

Alaska

(Must be at least 21 years old to buy CBD in Alaska)

You don’t need a license to buy CBD in Alaska, but the state requires that you be at least 21 years old to purchase it. But, due to the low quantity of stores and the difficulty of importing CBD, it would almost be easier if the state did have an active licensing program.

CBD products need to be endorsed before they can legally be displayed on a storefront in Alaska. Because this is a lengthy process with expensive shipping costs, very few people are willing to go through with it.

There are a few CBD shops that have been registered with the state. Buying CBD online is tough because you can’t legally import an unendorsed CBD product.

Arkansas

(No age restriction)

Arkansas does not have specific regulations for the import or distribution of CBD products. Nor does the state require residents to obtain a license prior to purchasing CBD. If you want to grow, test, or sell CBD products, then you will need to get a license.

As long as the CBD oil is sourced from industrial hemp, there is currently no age restriction for anybody interested in purchasing CBD in Arkansas.

Arizona

(No age restriction)

Arizona allows CBD sourced from hemp to be sold throughout the state. Marijuana remains illegal in the state. However, Arizona is yet undecided regarding its stance on the medical use of CBD.

Despite the lack of medical sanctions, people can buy CBD in Arizona at any age.

Arkansas

(No age restriction)

CBD sourced from both hemp and marijuana is legal for medicinal use in Arkansas. However, CBD sourced from marijuana is not considered legal when sold for recreational purposes.

As long as the CBD comes from hemp, however, there is no age restriction on its purchase.

California

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in California)

As for now, most cannabis shops in California will sell CBD to anyone over the age of 18.

California allows residents to cultivate and purchase hemp flowers as well as a variety of CBD products. The state has been putting in an effort to fully legalize CBD with bills such as AB-228 and the more recent AB-45, but they haven’t fully passed yet.

Nonetheless, CBD is so widely available and easy to purchase that it might as well be legal. Technically it is considered unlawful to sell CBD products in the state, but that doesn’t mean they’re hard to find.

The reason for this is because California has its own set of laws regarding what sort of compounds are considered ‘adulterants,’ and this differs from what the FDA recommends. According to their current definitions, CBD would technically be considered an adulterant and thus not safe or legal to sell to citizens.

The bills mentioned above aim to rectify this small confusion.

Colorado

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Colorado)

Colorado has long been known for its liberal approach to cannabis, and hemp CBD is no exception. Both hemp flower and CBD products can be sold legally, according to Colorado legislation.

However, Colorado has a more strict definition of what constitutes hemp. Instead of allowing hemp to contain no more than 3% delta-9 THC, Colorado states that it must have less than 0.3% total THC, including THCA and delta-8 THC.

In either case, hemp that fits this definition is considered legal and can be purchased by anyone over the age of 18.

Connecticut

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Connecticut)

In Connecticut state, all guidelines and regulations regarding the growth and production of CBD are maintained by the Department of Agriculture and the Department of Consumer Protection.

Following their current guidelines is the best way for you to make sure that you’re safe and legal when it comes to buying CBD.

At present, if you’re planning on growing, testing, or selling CBD products, then you’re going to need a license to do so. If you want a license, then you can apply once you’re 18 years of age. Residents must also be at least 18 to acquire a separate license to buy CBD.

Delaware

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Delaware)

Delaware allows for the legal sale and purchase of CBD sourced from both hemp and marijuana for medicinal purposes. For recreational purposes, CBD must be sourced only from industrial hemp.

CBD is covered under the same laws as Delaware’s medical marijuana act. That means that you must follow the same protocol for acquiring marijuana, which includes being at least 18 years of age.

Florida

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Florida)

Florida residents are allowed to cultivate both hemp and CBD without a license. However, if they desire to sell their products, they must apply for a license.

Residents who want to buy CBD have to be at least 18 years of age in Florida.

Georgia

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Georgia)

Georgia has banned the use of cannabis except for in the most extreme medical cases. However, their legislation still states that CBD derived from hemp and marijuana is considered legal for these purposes.

Despite the fact that Georgia residents will have a hard time finding any stores that sell CBD, the law still states that residents must be at least 18 before they can purchase CBD.

Hawaii

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Hawaii)

The rules for buying CBD in Hawaii can be a bit finicky. The general rule is that CBD customers must be at least 18 to buy the stuff; however, some stores require customers to be over the age of 21.

Hawaii is quite lax in regards to restrictions on where CBD can be purchased, and this is part of the reason for the variance in age requirements.

For example, CBD sold in an establishment that also sells liquor or offers gambling services may require users to be 21.

Idaho

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Idaho, with some exceptions)

Idaho laws are currently in conflict with the federal laws regarding CBD. Idaho prohibits the purchase and sale of any product containing trace amounts of THC, even if it is less than the 0.3% required by the Farm Bill to be considered federally legal.

As such, Idaho only permits the use and sale of products made from CBD isolate that contains absolutely no THC. Labels must specifically state that the product is THC-free.

Idaho residents must be either 18 or 21 years of age to purchase these products, depending on their specific jurisdiction.

Illinois

(You must be at least 21 to buy CBD in Illinois)

Hemp is considered legal in Illinois and can be purchased by anyone over the age of 21. CBD made from both marijuana and hemp is considered legal for both medicinal and recreational purchases.

Indiana

(You must be at least 21 to buy CBD in Indiana)

The use of recreational marijuana in Indiana is illegal, and the state has no medical marijuana program, making it difficult to access CBD products. While CBD derived from hemp is considered legal thanks to the Farm Bill, it can be tough to acquire.

Users can purchase these products as they’re over the age of eighteen in most cases (if they can find them), although some jurisdictions require users to be over 21.

(No age restrictions)

Iowa has no age restrictions on CBD as long as the product is made from industrial hemp (thus containing less than 0.3% THC).

Des Moines, Iowa.

Kansas

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Kansas)

Kansas only permits the sale of CBD for medicinal purposes and only if the products contain absolutely no THC. This means that even CBD derived from industrial hemp is unlikely to be considered legal unless the THC is explicitly removed or the products are made from CBD isolate.

Only users over the age of 18 can buy CBD products in the state of Kansas.

Kentucky

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Kentucky)

Kentucky requires that users interested in purchasing CBD must first receive a doctor’s recommendation. The products purchased must be made from industrial hemp and not from marijuana.

Generally, doctors will only recommend CBD to people who are of legal age (18 years and up).

Louisiana

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Louisiana)

Hemp-derived CBD is legal for purchase in Louisiana. As long as you’re over 18, then you don’t need any special permission to purchase CBD products.

Maine

(You must be at least 21 to buy CBD in Maine)

Throughout the state of Maine, hemp-derived products are considered legal. However, Maine requires that people purchasing these products are over the legal drinking age of 21.

Maryland

(No age restriction)

Hemp-derived CBD is considered legal in Maryland. The rules in this state are the same as those dictated by the Farm Bill. As such, you don’t need medical approval, and there are no age restrictions on buying CBD in Maryland.

Massachusetts

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Massachusetts)

Massachusetts currently states that CBD is legal, and thus, people over the age of 18 can purchase it here.

Michigan

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Michigan)

Michigan is one of the states in which CBD is considered fully legal. People over the age of 18 can buy it.

Minnesota

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Minnesota)

Minnesota passed its own laws regarding the legality of CBD on January 1, 2020, when the state announced that CBD derived from industrial hemp could be legally sold if it met the regulations specified by the Minnesota Board of Pharmacy.

In terms of age, Minnesota residents must be at least 18 years old to purchase CBD.

Mississippi

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Mississippi)

Mississippi law states that people over the age of 18 may purchase CBD. Parents and guardians are legally allowed to give CBD to children in their care if they’re under 18 as long as they have the consent of a doctor working through the state’s medical program.

Missouri

(No age restrictions)

Missouri follows the same rules that were set out by the 2018 Farm Bill. As such, CBD products are legal throughout the state, with no specific age limit on CBD products.

However, certain vendors may choose whether or not to require age validation.

Certain forms of CBD may only be accessible with a doctor’s prescription, however. To access these forms of CBD, patients will need a recommendation and a membership with the state’s medical hemp program.

Montana

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Montana)

Montana does not have its own regulations regarding the use of CBD. Most stores require that users are over the age of 18 to purchase the products; however, not all stores strictly enforce these guidelines.

Nebraska

(No age restrictions)

Nebraska State has no specific age requirements for the use of CBD. As specified by the 2018 Farm Bill, CBD products are legal throughout the state.

Nonetheless, some vendors may choose only to sell to residents who are above the age of 18 or 21.

Nevada

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Nevada)

Nevada is another state that currently allows the legal sale and purchase of CBD by anyone over the age of 18.

New Hampshire

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in New Hampshire)

Residents of New Hampshire must be over the age of 18 to purchase CBD.

Some stores and headshops will push the age limit to 21, although this is not a state-wide requirement.

New Jersey

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in New Jersey)

New Jersey has not set any specific laws for the purchase of CBD and thus falls under the same laws established by the Farm Bill.

There is no age regulation for buying CBD, but people wishing to take part in the medical marijuana program must be at least 18.

New Mexico

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in New Mexico)

If you plan to use cannabis-derived CBD in New Mexico, you’ll need a license, but if you want to use hemp-derived CBD products, you should have no problem as long as you’re over 18.

New York

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in New York)

New York currently allows the sale of CBD products to people over the age of 18.

However, they are in the process of passing new legislation that forbids the sale of CBD smoke and vape products to people under the age of 21.

North Carolina

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in North Carolina)

Hemp CBD products that contain less than 0.3% THC are legal in North Carolina and can be purchased by anyone over the age of 18.

North Dakota

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in North Dakota)

Anyone over the age of 18 can buy CBD products in North Dakota.

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Ohio)

Ohio allows the sale of CBD products to residents with no strict age restrictions. However, the majority of dispensaries will only sell to people over the age of 18.

Oklahoma

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Oklahoma)

In May 2019, Oklahoma signed bill SB238 into law, thus decriminalizing CBD derived from industrial hemp. Prior to this, CBD was only legal through the state’s medical-marijuana program. People over the age of 18 can buy CBD throughout the state; minors must have a doctor’s permission.

Oregon

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Oregon)

Oregon is one of the pioneering states in regard to cannabis legalization. Here, CBD is considered legal and can be purchased by anyone over the age of 18.

Pennsylvania

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Pennsylvania)

Pennsylvania allows the sale of CBD for medicinal and recreational purposes as long as it’s derived from industrial hemp. The state follows the guidance of the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture in regards to CBD sales.

Most stores sell only to people over the age of 18. There are some dispensaries that push that age limit to 21.

Rhode Island

(You must be at least 21 to buy CBD in Rhode Island)

Rhode Island permits the sale of CBD products derived from industrial hemp. However, due to the Industrial Hemp Growth Act, which was passed in 2019, CBD products are only legal for people over the age of 21.

South Carolina

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in South Carolina)

CBD is only legal for people in South Carolina who have received a prescription from a doctor specifically for severe epilepsy (specifically Dravet Syndrome, also known as severe myoclonic epilepsy of infancy, or other forms of serious epilepsy that do not respond to conventional treatments.

South Carolina also has their own definition of CBD oil. CBD oil must contain more than 15% CBD and less than 0.9% THC. People can only purchase it when they are 18 years or older.

South Dakota

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in South Dakota)

CBD was officially made legal in South Dakota as of March 27, 2020, when House Bill 1008 was passed into law. Except with a doctor’s permission, people in South Dakota must be at least 18 to buy CBD.

Mount Rushmore, South Dakota.

Tennessee

(You must be at least 21 to buy CBD in Tennessee)

Tennessee is one of the slower states to relax its laws around the use of hemp and hemp-derived CBD. You can only buy CBD in registered dispensaries, so the legal age to buy is 21 — which is how old you have to be able to even enter a dispensary in this state.

Texas

While marijuana remains illegal in Texas, the state does allow doctors to prescribe low-THC cannabis products. These products must contain less than 0.5% THC and at least 10% CBD. People can receive a prescription and buy these products at any age.

(You must be at least 21 to buy CBD in Utah)

When the Hemp and Cannabidiol Act was passed in 2018, industrial hemp was fully legalized in Utah State. Medical marijuana was legalized the same year.

Some vendors require customers to be at least 21, although, officially, there are no age restrictions in the state.

Vermont

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Vermont)

Vermont has a recreational cannabis law in effect, which is used as an umbrella for the state’s CBD registry. You can only enter dispensaries if you’re at least 21 years old.

Virginia

(No age restrictions)

Virginia was one of the first states to legalize the use of CBD oil for the treatment of epilepsy in 2015. At present, CBD products are legal throughout the state, with no age restrictions on their purchase.

Washington

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Washington)

Washington state currently lists CBD as legal. Anybody over the age of 18 can buy CBD over the counter, but if you’re trying to get your CBD products from your local dispensary, the state’s legal age to enter is 21.

West Virginia

(No age restrictions)

West Virginia adheres to federal policy in regards to CBD. As such, there are no official age restrictions on the purchase of CBD products as long as they are sourced from industrial hemp.

Wisconsin

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Wisconsin)

Like most states, Wisconsin allows the sale of CBD for anybody over the age of 18 — the exception being CBD products offered in medical dispensaries. The state limit to enter these shops is 21.

CBD can be bought online or at local health food shops at 18.

Wyoming

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Wyoming)

Since House Bill 32 was passed in Wyoming, people have been able to purchase CBD as long as they are over the age of 18.

CBD Age Restrictions In Different Countries

Many countries follow a similar legislation process as the United States, with a country-wide set of rules being instigated by the major government, and then individual states or provinces setting their own rules.

Other countries have many different approaches to cannabis. Countries like China outlaw cannabis entirely and punish its use with hard labor and long prison sentences.

Canada

(You must be at least 19 to buy CBD in Canada, with the exception of Alberta & Quebec, which is 18)

Under the Cannabis Act, marijuana and industrial hemp are both considered legal in Canada. However, anybody wishing to produce cannabis for retail sale must apply for a permit with the government.

CBD falls under the same regulations as the Cannabis Act, which states that users must be of legal age for purchasing smoking products, including tobacco, to buy CBD.

This is 19 throughout most of the country except for Alberta and Quebec, which allows the sale to people 18 and older.

The United Kingdom

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in the UK)

The laws surrounding cannabis in the United Kingdom are a bit confusing due to the massive omissions in the legislation. You can deduce through research, however, that CBD is legal and has no age restrictions.

This can be ascertained through a quick study of UK laws. Cannabis itself is not legal, but THC is, thus making most cannabis products illegal. CBD, however, is not considered illegal, and since there is no restriction on it, there is also no age limit for people wishing to purchase it.

That said, most vendors do restrict the sale of CBD to people of a certain age. Most don’t sell to people under 18. However, parents are allowed to buy CBD and give it to their children.

Mexico

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Mexico)

Mexico legalized medical cannabis in May 2017, but restrictions on recreational use are much more strict. CBD is legal in Mexico, though, as long as the CBD products contain less than 1% THC.

This can be a bit of a tricky situation for people traveling to Mexico who is carrying CBD products produced in other countries that have a higher tolerance for THC content.

Anyone hoping to purchase CBD products in the country must be over the age of 18, though in practice, very few vendors will check to confirm this.

Germany

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Germany)

CBD is considered legal in Germany under EU law. This means that CBD products need to contain less than 0.2% THC. They can be purchased by anyone over the age of 18.

Sweden

(No age restriction)

However, Very few Swedish companies actually try to produce CBD products because of the strict nature of Swedish legislation. CBD products can’t contain any THC whatsoever, not even trace amounts.

Because of the difficulty producing products without breaking the law during the manufacturing process, there aren’t many Swedish people or companies making CBD. Thus the country has made no laws regarding it, so technically, people of any age can buy CBD.

Denmark

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Denmark)

CBD derived from hemp is legal in Denmark with a prescription, but CBD derived from marijuana is not. Even CBD sourced from hemp must contain less than 0.2% THC.

Prescriptions can be acquired by residents over the age of 18.

Spain

(You must be at least 21 to buy CBD in Spain)

The regulations regarding CBD in Spain are set by the Medicines Agency. The Agency says that CBD products are legal as long as they are designed for topical use only: skincare products such as lotions and salves, for example.

CBD oil is not technically considered legal in Spain, although enforcement is not always severe. Since products simply need a label stating that they are “for external use only” to qualify for sale, some CBD oils are sold under the guise of massage oils or topical pain relievers.

Since these products are sold for topical usage, there’s no age restriction on buying them.

However, the majority of “Cannabis Clubs” in Spain, where such products are sold, require visitors to be 21 to enter.

Costa del Azahar, Spain

France

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in France)

CBD is 100% legal in France. People can buy, sell, and consume CBD and CBD products without worry. However, since marijuana is still illegal, CBD products must be entirely pure, i.e., made with CBD isolate only.

There is no set age restriction on the purchase of these products, but most vendors won’t sell to people under the age of 18.

Italy

(No age restriction)

Italy allows for the sale and consumption of CBD products containing 0.6% or less THC, but the product falls in a legal grey area. CBD oil is technically and legally considered a food product, and thus, there is no age restriction.

Australia

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in Australia)

As of 2021, CBD is considered legal in Australia as long as you have a prescription. CBD products must be at least 98% CBD to qualify as legal.

Patients must be over the age of 18 to receive a prescription.

New Zealand

(You must be at least 18 to buy CBD in New Zealand)

Like Australia, CBD is available in New Zealand with a prescription. You can buy it from a local pharmacy as long as you have a prescription signed by a doctor.

Prescriptions can be obtained relatively easily by consulting with a Cannabis Clinic if you’re over 18.

Final Thoughts on CBD Age Restrictions

CBD is a powerful, non-psychoactive compound produced in the hemp plant.

Because of its close ties to the intoxicating cannabinoid THC, CBD is often subject to strict rules and regulations. As recently as 2018, the federal government created new laws that separated non-psychoactive cannabinoids in hemp from psychoactive extracts from marijuana.

Since then, various states have imposed their own restrictions — some allowing the sale of CBD products to anybody, others stimulating a specific age to buy CBD.

In general, you’ll need to be at least 18 years old to buy CBD — in many cases; you’ll need to be 21.

Different countries and states may require consumers to be of a certain age before they can purchase CBD.